loader image
A A A

Understanding People with Dementia

People in different stages of dementia show different symptoms in their communication, socialising, emotions and behaviour. JCCPA advocates a people-centred care approach, which involves understanding why a person with dementia acts the way he/she does; and builds empathy with them to take care of their needs effectively.

Understanding the People-oriented Approach

  • Personality and interests

    Caregivers can arrange suitable activities according to the family member’s personality and interests. Introverts might be reluctant to join social activities due to communication barriers. Arrange calming activities such as horticulture, calligraphy and knitting.

  • Lifestyle habits

    People with dementia may be used to fixed schedules for eating, bathing and working. Organise such activities according to their schedule as much as possible and maintain regular hours and habits.

  • Value orientation

    Though people with dementia have impaired cognition, their core values are unchanged. Caregivers can appeal to their core values to pacify them. For example, if a family-loving dementia member is cranky because of communication problems, pacify him/her by saying that his/her loved ones are really worried about him/her.

  • Past experiences

    The life experience, work and achievements of people with dementia affect their thoughts and behaviour. For example, those who have been through a war might hoard. When family members help them clean up, they can talk about putting items in storage or sending them back home to help ease their minds.

  • Cultural background

    People from different places have different cultures. For example, Chaozhou folks are often thrifty and hardworking, while Shunde people tend to be low key and easy going. Caregivers need to understand that the behaviour and thinking of people with dementia are shaped by their cultural background. They need to be tolerant and accepting.

  • Family and social life

    The family background and friendships also affect the mood and behaviour of people with dementia. For example, people growing up in a patriarchal family may favour sons, so it will be helpful to have the sons take turns to visit, and discuss the care and living arrangements with the cared person who has dementia to ease their mind and make them more willing to listen to the family’s recommendations.

  • Physical changes

    The mobility of people with dementia will decline as they enter different stages. For example, most people with dementia can still move on their own in the early and middle stages but will be wheelchair-bound in the later stages. Caregivers need to ascertain if the people with dementia has become dependent on the wheelchair or really can’t walk, and then decide how to deal with it. They should not assume that he/she is not trying hard enough to walk or conversely keep him/her in a wheelchair because it is convenient for care.

  • Reaction to medication

    Adjustment of dosages, medication types and brands for people with dementia may all trigger reactions, leading to changes in spirit, mood and behavior. Caregivers should be aware that issues for the people with dementia could be drug related.

  • Pain and discomfort

    A decline in verbal expression might make people with dementia show their discomfort in other ways such as a reluctance to move, an unwillingness to eat or loss of temper. Caregivers should observe the physical condition of the person with dementia to help understand any change in his/her situation.

  • Hallucination and delusion

    People with dementia may hallucinate, such as seeing a deceased relative, hearing a child’s voice or feeling bugs crawling on their body. They may also be delusional, such as thinking that their family wants to poison them, or someone is entering the house to steal things at night. Caregivers should not argue or accuse them of having problems. Instead, they should observe their physical condition and emotional reactions to understand and comfort them. For example: ask them if the imagined relatives or children they see come often or if they cause harm. Gauge their response and then contact the doctor immediately.

  • Emotional control

    People with dementia show substantial emotional changes due to communication barriers and diminished control over their emotions. They may cry easily when thinking of the past or throw a tantrum for being awakened. Caregivers should not take the harsh words to heart or wonder if they are providing enough care.

  • Cognitive decline

    The cognitive ability of people with dementia will gradually decline as the degeneration progresses. This will cause communication and self-care difficulties. They are not intentionally making life difficult for their caregivers. In certain cases, those with dementia can still cook at early stages but may forget how by the middle stages. Rather than accusing them of not trying, caregivers should help those with dementia solve their problems.

  • Social activities

    Social activities can help people with dementia keep their minds active and slow down cognitive decline, as well as promote their mental health. Caregivers can arrange suitable activities for them based on their personality, interests and abilities.

  • Family support

    People with dementia might not be cognitively conscious or expressive, but they can still feel the care of their family members. They need assistance with care and long-term life planning. Family members should agree on the care arrangements early on, so the cognitively impaired need not worry due to family discord over care plans.

  • Psychological needs

    Despite being cognitively impaired, people with dementia still have psychological needs such as self-esteem, self-worth and care. Caregivers should let them do whatever they are capable of, such as cleaning and volunteering, and reminisce together about their life achievements and contributions and make them feel respected and valued.

loader image
A A A

了解脑退化症人士

脑退化症人士在各个阶段可能出现不同的状况,包括沟通、社交、情绪、行为等等。耆智园提倡「以人为本」的照顾理念,即是从不同角度理解脑退化症人士出现状况的成因,以同理心去了解他们的行为表现,从而有效照顾他们的需要。

「以人为本」的分析

  • 性格及兴趣


    照顾者可按脑退化症人士的性格及兴趣,安排适合的活动。例如:内向的脑退化症人士可能因沟通障碍而更不愿意参与社交活动,可安排其参与较静态的活动,如种植、书法、打毛衣等。

  • 生活习惯

    脑退化症人士可能长年习惯于特定时间吃饭、洗澡、上班等,宜尽量按其习惯编排用膳、沐浴、参与活动等的时间,维持其正常作息习惯。

  • 价值取向

    
虽然脑退化症人士的认知能力下降,但核心的价值取向多维持不变,照顾者可用以劝喻脑退化症人士。例如:一个重视家人关系的脑退化症人士因沟通障碍而发脾气时,可跟他说家人很担心他,以安抚脑退化症人士。

  • 过往经历

    脑退化症人士的生活经验、工作及成就等,均会影响其想法及行为。例如:曾经历战乱的脑退化症人士可能较不愿意丢弃东西,家人协助清理时,可说成是要把东西放到仓库或带回故乡,令其更安心。

  • 文化背景

    各个地方有不同的文化,例如:潮州人较节俭、勤力,顺德人较低调、顺从。照顾者需要明白脑退化症人士的行为和想法受其文化背景影响,且不易改变,需要多加包容和接纳。

  • 家庭及社交生活

    家庭背景及朋友关係亦会影响脑退化症人士的情绪和行为。例如:在重男轻女的家庭长大的脑退化症人士,可能较注重与儿子之间的关係,家人宜尽量安排各儿子轮流联络或探望,并由儿子与其谈论照顾及居住安排,使脑退化症人士更安心,并更愿意听从家人意见。

  • 身体机能变化

    脑退化症人士的活动能力会随著进入不同阶段後而衰退。例如:多数脑退化症人士在初期及中期尚能自行活动,但到了晚期,便需要坐轮椅。照顾者需分辨脑退化症人士是对轮椅有依赖还是真的走不动,才决定处理方法,不应立刻认定他是不够努力才会走不动,或为了方便照顾而经常让脑退化症人士使用轮椅。

  • 药物反应

    药物剂量的加减、种类的转变、品牌的变动,均有可能引发药物反应,导致脑退化症人士的精神、情绪、行为等出现变化。照顾者宜多留意脑退化症人士的问题是否与药物有关。

  • 病痛及不适

    由於语言表达能力下降,脑退化症人士可能会以不愿活动、不愿进食、发脾气等方式表现不适,照顾者如发现脑退化症人士情况有变动,宜先留意脑退化症人士身体状况的变化。

  • 幻觉及妄想

    脑退化症人士可能会出现幻觉,例如:看见已故的亲人、听到小孩子的声音、感到有蟲子在身上爬等。他也可能会有妄想的情况,例如:认为家人想毒害自己、觉得晚上有人进屋偷东西等。照顾者不宜与脑退化症人士对抗,指责脑退化症人士有问题,反应留意脑退化症人士的身体状况及情绪反应,以瞭解情况及作出安抚。例如:问脑退化症人士亲人或小孩子是否常来、有没有伤害他,藉此保持脑退化症人士对虚构人、事、物的反应,并尽快与医生联络。

  • 情绪控制

    由於沟通障碍及情绪控制能力下降,脑退化症人士的情绪变化可能较大,例如:容易因想到往事而哭泣、因被弄醒而发脾气等。照顾者不宜认为是自己照顾不周,或每每把脑退化症人士在气头上说的话放在心上。

  • 认知能力衰退

    脑退化症人士的认知能力会随著发展而逐渐衰退,造成沟通困难,并且变得无法照顾自己,而非故意为难照顾者。例如:脑退化症人士在初期尚能煮食,但至中期时可能忘记时间和煮食方法,照顾者应避免指摘,并按脑退化症人士情况协助其解决问题。

  • 社交活动

    社交活动不单能协助脑退化症人士保持头脑活跃,延缓衰退速度,亦能促进脑退化症人士心理健康。照顾者可按脑退化症人士性格、兴趣及能力,安排其参与适合的活动。(详见「适合脑退化症人士的活动」)

  • 家属支援

    脑退化症人士认知及表达能力有限,但仍能感受到家人的关怀,而脑退化症人士的照顾问题和长远生活规划亦需他人协助。家人之间宜尽早就脑退化症人士的照顾安排达成共识,避免脑退化症人士因家人间有不和而忧虑。

  • 心理需要

    虽然脑退化症人士的认知能力及多种功能均会衰退,但仍有自尊感、价值感、他人关心等心理需要。照顾者宜尽量安排脑退化症人士完成能力範围内的事,如:打扫、做义工等,亦可多作怀缅治疗,协助脑退化症人士整合一生成就和贡献,增加脑退化症人士的自尊感和价值感。

腦退化症人士特質